Georgian Parliament confirms new government

Georgian Parliament confirms new government
# 04 July 2012 17:36 (UTC +04:00)
Baku-APA. Parliament voted 102 against 7 today to declare trust in the new government and its action plan presented by a former Interior Minister.

From now on, Georgia’s prime minister will be Vano Merabishvili. The former defense minister will take over as interior minister. There are changes in education and refugee ministries too, and a position of employment minister has been created.

Most of the opposition members of parliament did not attend today’s session as a sign of protest.

Parliament factions refused to support the new prime minister’s action plan. Giorgi Tsagareishvili, who represents Unity for Justice, told journalists that the government conducts all these recent processes accelerated and everything happens in one day. So he and his faction refuse to participate in this ‘farce’.

The Christian Democrats Movement also did not support the government’s four year USD 12 billion plan.

Faction leader Giorgi Targamadze says there are too many weak points in the new action plan and it is not clearly defined where the money described in the document will be taken from. Targamadze added that when they asked certain questions on specific issues, Prime Minister Vano Merabishvili didn’t give clear answers.

Tsagareishvili recalled an action plan in 2007, which was very much alike the new one.
“It’s the ninth year Saakashvili’s government proposes thousand variety of programs to people – Georgia without Poverty, United Georgia without Poverty, 10 points plant and now More Benefits to People. But nothing changes for people.”