Georgian Parliament confirms PM Kobakhidze and his Cabinet of Ministers

Irakli Kobakhidze

© APA | Irakli Kobakhidze

# 08 February 2024 22:41 (UTC +04:00)

Parliament of Georgia confirmed on February 8 Irakli Kobakhidze as the new Prime Minister and the new cabinet of Ministers led by him, comprised of twelve Ministers, of which eleven have retained their posts.

On January 29, Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili resigned. The leader of the Georgian Dream party, Irakli Kobakhidze, was nominated in his place. After a vote in the plenary session of the Parliament, where all ministers, including the Prime Minister, were officially appointed, the Parliament gave a vote of confidence to the new Government of Georgia.

All attending lawmakers from the ruling Georgian Dream party voted in support of PM Kobakhidze’s cabinet and government’s program “For the Construction of a European State” with 84 votes to 10, with 105 MPs present.

Notably, only the nominee for Minister of Defense, Irakli Chikovani, is new to his post, replacing Juansher Burchuladze.

PM Kobakhidze’s cabinet, approved by the Parliament, is comprised of the following Ministers:

  • Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development and First Vice-Prime Minister– Levan Davitashvili
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs – Ilia Darchiashvili
  • Minister of Defense – Irakli Chikovani
  • Minister of Internal Affairs – Vakhtang Gomelauri
  • Minister of Finance – Lasha Khutsishvili
  • Minister of Regional Development and Infrastructure – Irakli Karseladze
  • Minister of Environmental Protection and Agriculture – Otar Shamugia
  • Minister of Reconciliation and Civic Equality – Tea Akhvlediani
  • Minister of Internally Displaced Persons from the Occupied Territories, Labor, Health and Social Affairs – Zurab Azarashvili
  • Minister of Education, Science and Youth – Giorgi Amilakhvari
  • Minister of Justice – Rati Bregadze
  • Minister of Culture and Sports – Tea Tsulukiani
1 2 3 4 5 İDMAN XƏBƏR