GOP leader McCarthy elected House Speaker on 15th vote in historic run

Kevin McCarthy

© APA | Kevin McCarthy

# 07 January 2023 10:23 (UTC +04:00)

The U.S. House of Representatives elected GOP leader Kevin McCarthy of California as speaker in a dramatic 15th vote, after a contentious four days and 14 failed ballots — the longest the chamber has gone leaderless in a century, APA reports citing CNBC.

In a dramatic showdown on the House floor in the middle of the 14th failed vote, McCarthy personally confronted GOP Reps. Matt Gaetz of Florida and Lauren Boebert of Colorado.

Despite making numerous concessions to win support from them and other far right Republicans over the course of the week, they still refused to support McCarthy outright. They, instead, joined four other Republicans in the 15th and final vote by voting “present,” which helped him clinch the gavel by reducing the number of votes he needed to get to a majority. He won with 216 out of 428 possible votes.