Turkey And Russia Sign Agreement On Visa Exemption

Turkey And Russia Sign Agreement On Visa Exemption
# 12 May 2010 22:35 (UTC +04:00)
Baku – APA. No visas will be required from Turkish and Russian citizens willing to travel to each other’s countries thanks to a visa exemption agreement signed by Turkey and Russia on Wednesday, APA reports quoting turkishny.com web-page.

With the new agreement signed by Turkish Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoglu and Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov in capital Ankara today, Turkish and Russian citizens will not be asked for visas for their touristic visits not lasting more than 30 days within a 90 day-period.
For journeys longer than 30 days, both countries’ citizens will be requested visas.
Turkish officials say that a total of 2.6 million Russian tourists visited Turkey in 2009. Such figure is 1.9 million according to Russian authorities.
Nearly 30,000-40,000 Turkish tourists visited the Russian capital of Moscow last year, sources said.
Thanks to the intense diplomatic efforts displayed by Turkey recently, a total of 7 countries, namely Syria, Pakistan, Albania, Libya, Jordan, Lebanon and Russia, lifted visa procedures for Turkish citizens in the last 8 months.
Turkey currently has visa exemption agreements with 58 countries and special administrative regions.
In addition to the above-mentioned 7 countries, these states are Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Ecuador, El Salvador, Morocco, Fiji, Philippines, Guatemala, South Africa, Georgia, Haiti, Croatia, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iran, Jamaica, Japan, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Colombia, South Korea, Kosovo, Costa Rica, Macau, Macedonia, Maldives, Malaysia, Mauritius, Nicaragua, Palau, Paraguay, St. Vincent-Grenadines, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Chile, Thailand, Trinidad-Tobago, Tunisia, Tuvalu, Uruguay and Venezuela.