US returns to UN Human Rights Council

The UN General Assembly

© APA | The UN General Assembly

# 14 October 2021 21:23 (UTC +04:00)

The UN General Assembly elected representatives of 18 states as members of the United Nations Human Rights Council, including the US, who withdrew from the Council in 2018, APA reports citing TASS.

The election was uncontested, and all candidates passed into the Council, those being the US, Cameroon, Eritrea, Gambia, Benin, Somali, Qatar, UAE, Kazakhstan, India, Malaysia, Argentina, Paraguay, Honduras, Luxembourg, Finland, Lithuania and Montenegro.

The Human Rights Council is comprised of 47 countries, including Russia, with one third of members being re-elected every year.

1 2 3 4 5 İDMAN XƏBƏR