List of Turkish political parties’ candidates for National Assembly announced

List of Turkish political parties’ candidates for National Assembly announced
# 11 April 2011 21:57 (UTC +04:00)
AKP (Justice and Development Party) has nominated Hakan Shukur and Alparslan Turkesh’s son Ahmad Turkesh, CHP (Republican People’s Party) – former Turkish ambassador to Azerbaijan: Faruk Logoglun, Mehmet Mustafa and Balbayla Haberalı, who were arrested on charges of "Ergenekon" case, and MHP (Nationalist Movement Party) - Professor Yousuf Halachoglu.

Baku – APA. Turkey’s political parties have submitted the list of candidates, who will take part in the parliamentary elections, held on June 12, to The Supreme Election Board (Central Elective Commission), APA reports.

JDP, RPP, and NMP, currently represented in the parliament, sent their lists to SEB today at 16.00 o’clock (local time). All JDP’s ministers are re-nominated. Surprise candidates are former soccer star Hakan Shukur and Turkish nationalists’ legendary leader Alparslan Turkesh’s youngest son Ahmad Turkesh. (Alparslan Turkesh’s elder son Togrul is candidate from NMP). H. Shukur and A. Turkesh are nominated from Istanbul and their names are on the top of the list. No doubt that both candidates will be elected to the Parliament.

The most changes occurred in the RPP. Majority of Former party leader Deniz Baykal’s inner circle were not nominated. D. Baykal himself is nominated from his native land Antalya. Currently represented in party’s parliamentary group, the former ambassadors Alakdag Shukru and Onur Oymen this time won’t be members of the parliament. They will be replaced by former Turkish ambassadors to Azerbaijan and the United States Osman Faruk, and to France Logoglu Koruturk.

RPP also nominated two known persons who are arrested on charges of "Ergenekon” case, which is claimed to be terrorist organization. The writer of "Cumhuriyet" (Republic) newspaper Mustafa Balbay and the world-famous doctor, Professor Mehmet Haberal have also been nominated from RPP. Both persons are supposed to be elected and will directly go the parliament from the prison.

There are not so much changes in the list of Nationalist Movement Party (MHP). NMP has re-nominated all its present members of the parliament. The main newness is Professor Yousuf Halachoglu’s candidacy, the former head of Turkish Historical Society. Azerbaijan’s close friend who devoted his life to the combat against so-called “Armenian genocide” lie, Yousuf Halachoglu is nominated in the first row from Kayseri city, and his election to the parliament is already evident.

Due to inability to overcome the minimum 10-percent barrier Ethnic Kurds’ party, Peace and Democracy Party (BDP) won’t participate in the parliamentary election as the party. As in the previous elections, PDP will still participate in the elections with independent candidates.
1 2 3 4 5 İDMAN XƏBƏR