Council of Europe Committee of Ministers to hold 117th session

Council of Europe Committee of Ministers to hold 117th session
# 08 May 2007 14:42 (UTC +04:00)
The Council of Europe Committee of (Foreign) Ministers will hold its 117th session on Friday 11 May in Strasbourg, COE office in Azerbaijan told the APA. Just before the session, they will have welcomed the 47th member State of the Organization: the accession ceremony of the Republic of Montenegro will take place on 11 May at 9 am, in the presence of Milan Rocen, Foreign Minister. Under the chairmanship of San Marino’s Foreign Minister Fiorenzo Stolfi, the Ministers will review the implementation of the decisions taken at the Warsaw Summit de Varsovie (May 2005), in particular:
1. Relations between the Council of Europe and the European Union :
signature of the Memorandum of understanding between the two organisations, constituting a new framework of enhanced cooperation,
follow-up to the recommendations of the report by Jean-Claude Juncker,
cooperation between the Council of Europe end the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights.
2. Consolidation of the Council of Europe system of human rights protection,
3. Follow-up given to other priorities resulting from the Warsaw Summit :
development of intercultural dialogue, internal reform process of the Council of Europe.
At the closing of the session, Serbia will take over the presidency of the Committee of Ministers from San Marino, for a period of six months. Vuk Draskovic, Serbian Foreign Minister, will present the priorities of his presidency at the end of the discussions. /APA/