OSCE reps visit Aghdam district executive authority

OSCE reps visit Aghdam district executive authority
# 08 December 2016 09:28 (UTC +04:00)

Field assistants of the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office - Jiri Aberle, Peter Swedberg and Simon Tiller met with the head of Aghdam district executive authority Ragum Mammadov on Dec. 8.

The OSCE representatives were informed that Armenian armed forces have over 300 times shelled the district’s residential settlements along the frontline since August 2, APA's local bureau reported.

Following the meeting, OSCE representatives left for the contact line between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops.

The OSCE is due to monitor the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops on Dec. 8.

The monitoring will be held under the mandate of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Personal Representative along the line of contact in the direction of Garadaghli village of Azerbaijan’s Aghdam district.

On the Azerbaijani side, the monitoring will be held by field assistants of the OSCE chairperson-in-office personal representative Jiri Aberle, Peter Svedberg and Simon Tiller.

On the Azerbaijani territories occupied and controlled by Armenian armed forces, the monitoring will be carried out by field assistants of the OSCE chairperson-in-office personal representative Gennady Petrica and Hristo Hristov.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.