Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 123 times

Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 123 times
# 02 October 2017 08:13 (UTC +04:00)

Armenia’s armed forces have 123 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops over the past 24 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Oct.2.

The Azerbaijani army positions in Kamarli, Farahli, Bala Jafarli villages and on nameless heights in Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located in Dovekh, Shavarshavan village in Armenia’s Noyemberyan district and on nameless heights in Ijevan district.

Meanwhile, the Armenian army positions located in Mosesgekh, Chinari villages and on nameless heights in Berd district opened fire at the Azerbaijani army positions located in Alibayli, Aghdam and Kokhanabi villages of Tovuz district.

The Azerbaijani army positions in Goyali village and on nameless heights in Gadabay district were also shelled from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights in Armenia’s Krasnoselsk district.

The positions of Azerbaijan’s Armed Forces were also fired from the Armenian army positions units located near the occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Taghibeyli, Shikhlar, Bash Garvand, Garagashli, Kangarli, Saryjali, Novruzlu, Yusifjanli, Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Ashaghi Veysalli, Garakhanbayli, Ashaghy Seyidahmadli, Gorgan, Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar and Mehdili villages of Jabrayil district, as well as from positions located on nameless hills in Goranboy, Terter, Khojavand and Fuzuli districts.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

1 2 3 4 5 İDMAN XƏBƏR