10:27 24 May
10:21 24 May
10:22 23 May
10:11 23 May

Peace ambassador of Armenia-Azerbaijan Peace Platform from Russia appointed

The co-coordinators of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace, Susan Jaghinyan and Orkhan Nabiyev, met with Elgiz Hajiyev, MP from Udmurt Republic of the Russian Federation.


The sides discussed future plans of the Peace Platform during the meeting.


The co-coordinator of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace from Azerbaijan, Orkhan Nabiyev, provided the guest with detailed information about the current activity and future plans of the Peace Platform.


The co-coordinator of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace from Armenia, Suzan Jaghinyan, thanked the Russian MP for cooperation with the Platform.  


The sides reached agreements on mutual cooperation with the Peace Platform.


In his turn, Mr. Hajiyev emphasized that he supports peace building activity of the Peace Platform and will deliver his support on this issue.


At the end of the meeting the coordinators declared Elgiz Hajiyev as “Peace Ambassador” of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace from the Russian Federation.


For the purpose of contributing to a peaceful settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, the Armenia-Azerbaijan Platform for Peace was established on December 6, 2016. The Platform is an initiative of the citizens of Azerbaijan and Armenia who wish to contribute to the peaceful settlement of the conflict.


The initiative on the creation of the Platform has generated the interest of the international community as well as attracted the high level of public attention in both conflicting states. A large number of well-known experts highly appreciated this initiative and stressed the very special role of the above-mentioned peacekeeping initiative in the process of the peaceful settlement of the conflict.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  






Related news releases



  • Moody’s: Capital adequacy in banking sector improved followi...
  • Moody’s Investors Service holding annual summit on Azerbaija...
/ 24 May, 2018