Azerbaijan removes Japanese blogger from ‘black list’

Azerbaijan removes Japanese blogger from ‘black list’
# 21 June 2017 12:24 (UTC +04:00)

A Japanese citizen, independent blogger Natsumi Daizen addressed an official letter to the Embassy of the Republic of Azerbaijan in Japan, in which she asked to remove her name from the Azerbaijani Foreign Ministry’s list of people declared personae non gratae, said the Foreign Ministry.

In her letter, the blogger reaffirmed her full respect to the territorial integrity and sovereignty of the Republic of Azerbaijan within its internationally recognized borders.

Natsumi Daizen also stated that she visited the occupied Azerbaijani territories as she was uninformed about the illegality of such a visit.

In her letter, Natsumi Daizen apologized to the people of Azerbaijan and noted that her visit in no way served for the promotion of the illegal regime created in the occupied Azerbaijani lands.

The blogger’s appeal was considered and it was decided to exclude her from the Foreign Ministry’s list of people declared personae non gratae.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Nagorno Garabagh