Baku: Armenia's actions contrary to logic and essence of negotiations on Karabakh conflict

Baku: Armenia
# 22 June 2016 08:55 (UTC +04:00)

He was commenting on the anti-Azerbaijan statements recently made by Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian.


Hajiyev noted that the Armenian FM, as always, continues making non-constructive and contradictory statements.


“This runs contrary the statements repeatedly made by the presidents of OSCE Minsk Group co-chair countries on the inadmissibility of the status quo,” the spokesman said.


Hajiyev stressed that Azerbaijan is committed to substantive negotiations on the settlement of the conflict [Nagorno-Karabakh] and welcomes the outcome of the constructive talks held between the presidents of Russia, Azerbaijan and Armenia in St. Petersburg June 20.


In his comments on the presidential meeting in St. Petersburg, Armenian FM Nalbandian accused Azerbaijan of taking an unconstructive position regarding the expansion of the Office of the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  






Nagorno Garabagh