Austrian journalist asks Baku not to blacklist his name for visiting occupied lands

Austrian journalist asks Baku not to blacklist his name for visiting occupied lands
# 01 December 2016 12:13 (UTC +04:00)

Baku – APA. Austrian citizen Martin Staudinger, a journalist with the “Profil” magazine who has made an illegal trip to the occupied Azerbaijani lands, has sent a letter of apology to Azerbaijan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, asking for his name not to be added to the list of “undesired persons,” the ministry’s press service told APA.

In his letter, Staudinger said he respects territorial integrity and sovereignty of Azerbaijan within the internationally recognized borders, noting that his trip to the occupied lands is not denying the fact that those territories belong to Azerbaijan.

The journalist also noted that he was informed of the Azerbaijani state considering this trop illegal and therefore apologizes to Azerbaijan.

The ministry decided not to add his name to the list of “undesired persons,” taking into account him being a journalist and his letter of apology.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Nagorno Garabagh