Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 02 December 2016 07:16 (UTC +04:00)

Baku - APA. Armenian armed forces have 56 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops over the last 24 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said on Dec. 2.

Armenian armed units stationed in Paravakar village of Armenia’s Ijevan district and Doveh village of Noyemberyan district shelled the positions of Azerbaijani armed forces located in Kohnegishlag village of Azerbaijan's Aghstafa district and on nameless heights and Kamarli village of Gazakh district.

Meanwhile, Azerbaijani army positions located in Kokhanebi and Aghbulag villages of Tovuz district came under fire from the Armenian positions located on nameless heights and Chinari village of Berd district.

Positions of the Azerbaijani army also underwent fire from the Armenian positions located near the Armenia-occupied Chilaburt village of Terter district, Shirvanli, Chiragli, Javahirli, Yusifjanli villages of Aghdam district, Ashaghi Seyidahmadli village of Fuzuli district, Mehdili village of Jabrayil district, as well as on nameless heights of Goranboy, Fuzuli and Khojavand districts.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions passed by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.