Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 01 February 2017 07:07 (UTC +04:00)

Armenian armed forces have 21 times violated the ceasefire in various directions along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops over the last 24 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said on Feb.1.

Armenian armed units stationed in Berkaber village and on nameless heights of Ijevan district opened fire at the Azerbaijani army positions located in Gizilhajili village and on nameless heights of Azerbaijan’s Gazakh district.

Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions located in Kokhanebi, Aghdam and Alibeyli villages of Tovuz district came under fire from the Armenian positions located in Chinari and Mosesgeh villages of Berd district.

The Azerbaijani army positions were also shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Chilaburt village of Terter district, Shikhlar village of Aghdam district, Ashagi Seyidahmedli, Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Mehdili village of Jabrayil district, as well as on nameless heights of Fuzuli district.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.