Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 09 April 2018 07:41 (UTC +04:00)

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 92 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, using large-caliber machine guns, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on April 9.

The Azerbaijani army positions in Kamarli, Gushchu Ayrim, Ashaghy Eskipara, Mazam, Gizilhajili villages in Gazakh district came under fire from the Armenian army positions located in Shavarshavan village and on nameless heights in Noyemberyan and in Berkaber village and on nameless heights in Ijevan districts.

Meanwhile, Armenia’s armed units stationed in Mosesgekh, Chinari, Aygedzor villages in Berd district shelled the Azerbaijani army positions located in Aghdam, Kokhanebi, Garalar villages in Tovuz district.

The Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights in Gadabay district were also shelled by Armenia’s armed units stationed on nameless heights in Krasnoselsk district.

Positions of the Azerbaijani army were shelled from the positions located near the Armenian-occupied Chilaburt, Yarymja villages of Tartar district, Shikhlar, Yusifjanly, Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Ashaghy Veysalli, Garakhanbayli, Kurdlar villages of Fuzuli district, Mehdili village of Jabrayil district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in Goranboy, Terter, Aghdam and Fuzuli districts.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.