Armenia continues to violate ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues to violate ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 15 June 2016 08:10 (UTC +04:00)

Baku – APA. Armenian armed forces have 18 times violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan on the line of contact over the past 24 hours, said the message from Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry June 15.

Armenian armed forces stationed in the Paravakar village of Armenia's Ijevan district, opened fire at the positions of the Azerbaijani armed forces in the Kohnegishlag village of the Aghstafa district.

Azerbaijani positions, located in the villages of Aghbulag and Alibayli of the Tovuz district underwent fire from the position located in the villages of Chinari and Mosesgeh of Armenia's Berd district.

Meanwhile, Azerbaijani positions located on nameless heights of the Gadabay district were shelled from the positions located on nameless heights of Armenia's Krasnoselsk district.

Moreover, Azerbaijani positions underwent fire from the positions located near the villages of Garakhanbeyli, Horadiz and Gorgan of the Fizuli district and from the nameless heights in Goranboy, Fizuli and Jabrayil districts.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

1 2 3 4 5 İDMAN XƏBƏR