Armenia continues breaking ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenia continues breaking ceasefire with Azerbaijan
# 11 February 2017 07:58 (UTC +04:00)

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 33 times violated the ceasefire in various directions along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Feb. 11.

Armenian armed units stationed in Berkaber village of Armenia’s Ijevan district opened fire at the positions of the Azerbaijani armed forces located in Gizilhajili village of Azerbaijan’s Gazakh district.

The Azerbaijani army positions located in Kokhanabi and Aghbulag villages of Azerbaijan’s Tovuz district were also shelled from the Armenian positions located on nameless heights and in Chinari village of Armenia’s Berd district.

Also, Azerbaijan’s army positions located on nameless heights of Azerbaijan’s Gadabay district came under fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Armenia’s Krasnoselsk district.

Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Shuraabad, Marzili, Yusifjanli villages of Aghdam district, Mehdili village of Jabrayil district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights of Goranboy, Terter, Fuzuli and Jabrayil districts of Azerbaijan.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.