Azerbaijani parliament elects speaker, vice speaker and chairmen of committees - UPDATED

Azerbaijani parliament elects speaker, vice speaker and chairmen of committees - <font color=red> UPDATED</font>
# 29 November 2010 12:04 (UTC +04:00)
122 MPs attended the first meeting of new convocation. According to Parliament’s Regulations, though the oldest MP Jalal Aliyev had to chair the first meeting, he did not participated in the meeting that is why, other oldest MP Fattah Heydarov run the meeting.

Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev attended the meeting as well. He spoke about the economic and political reforms carried out in the country.

MP Zahid Orujov told APA that thereafter managerial issues were viewed. Following this, the new composition of the parliament was confirmed through voting. As a result of the voting, Ogtay Asadov was reelected speaker of the parliament. Ziyafat Asgarov was elected first vice speaker, Bahar Muradova and Valeh Alasgarov vice speakers.

Orujov said that committee chairmen had been appointed and the committees would be formed totally in the next few days, certifications would be distributed to deputies.

Ali Huseynov has been appointed to Legal Policy and State Building Committee, Ziyafet Asgarov to Security and Defense Committee, Ziyad Samadzadeh to Economic Policy, Valeh Alasgarov to Natural Resources, Energy and Ecology Committee, Eldar Ibrahimov to Committee for Agrarian Policy, Hadi Rajabli to Committee for Social Policy, Arif Rahimzadeh to Committee on Regional Issues, Shamsaddin Hajiyev to Committee of Science and Education, Nizami Jafarov to Culture Committee, Samad Seyidov to Committee on International Relations and Interparliamentary Relations, Rabiyyat Aslanova to Committee on Human Rights.

Accounts Commission was formed at the parliament, MP Mubariz Gurbanli was elected chairman of the commission. Chairman of the Disciplinary Commission has not been appointed yet.

Malahat Ibrahimgizi was chairperson of the Accounts Commission of the parliament of the third convocation.