Azerbaijan to send to int’l organizations documents on Armenian crimes against civilians

Aghjabadi. Ziya Amirkhanli – APA. The results of the crimes and terrorist acts committed by Armenians against the civilian population of Azerbaijan will be documented and submitted to international organizations, Azerbaijan’s Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources Huseyn Baghirov told reporters on Thursday.

Visiting Aghjabadi’s Garakhanli village, Minister Baghirov inspected villager Barkhudar Khalilov’s house which caught fire last night after coming under artillery fire from the Armenian side.


The minister then visited Aghdam’s Garadaghli, Mahrizli and Chemenli villages targeted by Armenian artillery shells, inspecting the houses hit by shells.


The minister went on to say that water purifiers are being built over rivers originating from Armenian territories.


“We do know that the Armenians release toxic substances into the rivers. Armenia sells furniture and wood to foreign countries. Everyone should know that those trees are cut down in occupied Azerbaijani territories,” he concluded.  


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.  


Related news releases



  • Belgium takes third place in World Cup after beating England...
  • Mehmet Akarca: Azerbaijan’s anti-FETO fight makes Turkey pro...
/ 16 July , 2018