Azerbaijani FM to meet with OSCE MG co-chairs in Moscow

Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov will meet with the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairs in Moscow today.


The meeting is expected to start at 11:00 local time, APA reported. 


Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office Andrzej Kasprzyk will also attend the meeting. During the meeting, the sides will discuss efforts to resolve the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict and the possibility of a meeting between the foreign ministers of Azerbaijan and Armenia.


The co-chairs met with Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian two days ago in Moscow. Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov is expected to visit Azerbaijan, then Armenia on November 19-20 to hold talks on the settlement of the conflict. 


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.




Related news releases



  • A serviceman of the Azerbaijan Army was killed as a result o...
  • Armenia violates ceasefire 93 times
/ 20 May, 2018