10:19 15 December
10:13 15 December
10:11 15 December

OSCE to monitor border area between Azerbaijan, Armenia

The OSCE is expected to monitor the border area between Azerbaijan and Armenia on April 27, Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry told APA on April 26.


The monitoring will be held under the mandate of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Personal Representative along the border area in the direction of Azerbaijan’s Gazakh district.


On the Azerbaijani side, the monitoring will be held by Personal Representative’s field assistants Simon Tiller and Mikhail Olaru.


On the Azerbaijani territories occupied and controlled by Armenian armed forces, the monitoring will be carried out by Personal Representative’s field assistants Ghenadie Petrica and Martin Schuster.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh. 

Related news releases



  • Azerbaijani president allocates AZN 7M to Sumgayit
  • Central Bank: Fed decision does not have a direct impact on ...
/ 15 December, 2017