11:17 23 February
11:15 23 February
10:15 23 February

No incident during OSCE contact line monitoring

The OSCE">OSCE monitoring held on the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops passed without incidents, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Feb. 16.


The monitoring was held under the mandate of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Personal Representative along the line of contact near Kokhanabi village of Azerbaijan’s Tovuz district.


On the Azerbaijani side, the monitoring was conducted by field assistants of Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office Ghenadie Petrica and Peter Svedberg.


In the territory of Azerbaijan occupied and controlled by Armenian armed forces, the monitoring was held by Personal Representative’s field assistants Jiri Aberle and Hristo Hristov.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includesNagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar,Aghdam,Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is theOSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCEafter the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Related news releases



  • AZN 160M allocated for improved technical support to agraria...
  • USD rate for February 26 announced
/ 24 February, 2018