18:13 20 September
10:22 20 September
10:19 20 September
10:18 20 September
10:17 20 September

Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 156 times

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 156 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Aug. 25.


Armenians were using large-caliber machine guns.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Kamarli, Gushchu Ayrim, Mazam, Jafarli, Bala Jafarli villages and on nameless heights of the Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located in Berdavan, Barekamavan villages and on nameless heights of Noyemberyan district, and in Berkaber, Vazashen, Paravakar villages and on nameless heights of Armenia’s Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions in Alibayli and Aghdam villages of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Mosesgekh, Chinari villages and on nameless heights of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Zamanli village and on nameless heights of Gadabay district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Shikhlar, Bash Garvand, Javahirli, Abdinli, Garagashli, Kangarli, Sarijali, Novruzlu, Yusifjanli and Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Ashagi Veysalli, Gobu Dilagarda, Garvand, Garakhanbayli, Ashagi Seyidahmadli, Gorgan, Kurdlar and Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar and Mehdili villages of Jabrayil district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam, Khojavand and Fuzuli districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Related news releases



  • President Ilham Aliyev met with UN Secretary-General Antonio...
  • Azerbaijan, Pakistan discuss military-technical cooperation
/ 21 September, 2017