10:27 24 May
10:21 24 May

Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan 152 times

Armenia’s armed forces have 152 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops over the past 24 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Sept. 26.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Kohnagishlag village of Aghstafa district, Kamarli, Gaymagli, Bala Jafarli villages of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions on nameless heights and Dovekh, Barekamavan villages of Noyemberyan district, on nameless heights in Armenia’s Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani positions in Alibayli, Aghdam">Aghdam, Kokhanabi, Munjuglu villages and on nameless heights of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions in Chinari, Mosesgekh villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Zamanli village and on nameless heights in Gadabay district also underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights in Armenia’s Krasnoselsk district.


The positions of Azerbaijan’s Armed Forces were also fired from positions of Armenian military units located near the occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt, Yarymja villages of Terter district, Nemirli, Shuraabad, Taghibeyli, Shikhlar, Bash Garvand, Javahirli, Garagashly, Kangarli, Novruzlu, Yusifjanly, Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Ashaghy Veysalli, Gobu Dilagharda, Garvand, Garakhanbayli, Ashaghy Seyidahmadli, Gorgan, Kurdlar, Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar and Mehdili villages of Jabrayil district, as well as from positions located on nameless hills in Goygol, Goranboy, Terter, Aghdam and Khojavend districts.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar">KalbajarAghdam">AghdamFuzuli">FuzuliJabrayil">JabrayilGubadli">Gubadli and Zangilan">Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE">OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE">OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE">OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE">PACEOSCE">OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Related news releases



  • Moody’s: Azerbaijan’s economy to grow 3% next year
  • USD rate at today's auction announced
/ 24 May, 2018