10:18 20 June
10:14 20 June

Armenia continues violating ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Over the past 24 hours, Armenia’s armed forces have 119 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said on May 3.


The Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights and in Farahli, Qaymaghli, Mezem villages of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located in Shavarshavan, Barekamavan villages of Armenia’s Noyemberyan district, as well as Berkaber, Paravakar villages of Armenia’s Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions in Munjuqlu, Alibayli, Aghdam villages of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Chinari, Aygedzor, Aygepar and Mosesgekh villages of Armenia’s Berd district.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Garaveliler village of Gadabay district also underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Krasnoselsk district of Armenia.


Moreover, the Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Chilaburt village of Tartar district, Marzili, Shirvanli, Yusifjanli villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Gorgan, Ashagi Veysalli villages of Fuzuli district, Mehdili village of Jabrayil village, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in the Goygol, Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam, Khojavand and and Jabrayil districts of Azerbaijan.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


Related news releases



  • Russia’s cooperation with UN to be in focus of Lavrov’s talk...
  • Turkish servicemen arrive in Azerbaijan to participate in fe...
/ 21 June, 2018