10:32 19 July
10:27 19 July

Armenia 136 times breaks ceasefire with Azerbaijan in 24 hours

Armenia’s armed forces have 136 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops over the past 24 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Dec. 13.


Armenian troops were using large-caliber machine guns.


The Azerbaijani army positions in Gaymagli, Gushchu Ayrim villages and on nameless heights in Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located in Dovekh, Voskevan villages and on nameless heights in Noyemberyan district, on nameless heights in Ijevan district.


Meanwhile, Armenia's armed units stationed in Aygepar, Chinari villages of Berd district opened fire at the Azerbaijani army positions located in Alibeyli, Aghbulag, Munjuglu villages of Tovuz district.


The Azerbaijani army positions on nameless heights in Gadabay district were also shelled from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights in Armenia’s Krasnoselsk district.


The Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian army positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt villages of Terter district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavend district, Ashaghi Veysalli, Garakhanbayli, Kurdlar, Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, and Nuzgar village of Jabrayil district, as well as from positions located on nameless heights in Goygol, Goranboy, Terter, Aghdam and Fuzuli districts.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh district of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996. 


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Related news releases



  • President Ilham Aliyev met with Chairman and CEO of Naval Gr...
  • USD rate for tomorrow announced
/ 19 July , 2018